Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »

A classic

“I can’t believe it took me about 20 years to finally see another movie directed by Jacques Tati. To be honest, at the time, I actually didn’t care much for ‘Jour de fête’ but maybe it was because I had such huge expectations. Anyway, with this 2nd attempt, even though I did like it and even” read more

9 hours, 18 minutes ago
johanlefourbe posted a review of The Double Lover

A good movie

“First of all, I thought it was pretty neat to see another movie directed by François Ozon less than a year after watching his previous directing effort. On top of that, I actually enjoyed it more than 'Frantz' and this movie was more a typical Ozon feature dealing with his usual twisted characters ” read more

2 days, 22 hours ago
johanlefourbe posted a review of The Dirty Dozen

A classic

“Since this movie is a classic, of course, I was l really eager to check it out. Obviously, it was a major inspiration for Quentin Tarantino when he made 'Inglourious Basterds' and you could even argue that this movie is actually superior to Tarantino's movie. Indeed, the script might be more simple ” read more

3 days, 10 hours ago
johanlefourbe posted a review of Begin Again

A good movie

“Since I have a weak spot for Mark Ruffalo and Keira Knightley and since this movie seemed to have a decent reputation, I was really eager to check it out. Well, at first, it seemed to be really promising. Indeed, even though it is usually a rather annoying gimmick, I really liked how they displayed ” read more

4 days, 4 hours ago
johanlefourbe posted a review of Castle in the Sky

A good movie

“Not to be confused with ‘Howl's Moving Castle’, another movie directed Hayao Miyazaki, to be honest, even if I was really eager to check this movie, I still struggled to get into the damned thing. I mean, you have to agree that the beginning was pretty much a huge mess during which most of the m” read more

6 days, 8 hours ago
johanlefourbe posted a review of Mary and Martha

An average movie

“I wasn’t really sure what to expect from this flick but since I have a weak spot for Hilary Swank, I thought I might as well check it out. By the way, to be honest, even though she managed to win 2 Oscars for the Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role, her career turned out to be rather ” read more

1 week ago

A good movie

“I already saw this movie but since it was maybe 20 years go and since I had it on DVD, I was really eager to check it out again. Well, eventually, even though it turned out to be pretty good, I still didn't completely blow me away though. Eventually, the biggest problem was that the damned thing was” read more

1 week, 1 day ago
johanlefourbe posted a review of Dunkirk

A very good movie

“Of course, since I had seen all the movies directed by Christopher Nolan, I also had to watch this movie at some point. Well, it seems to be already another box-office hit for Nolan which is even more remarkable since you wouldn't expect a movie dealing with WWII to be able to compete with your usua” read more

1 week, 2 days ago
johanlefourbe posted a review of Cars 3

An average movie

“I was spending the week-end at my parents's house and since my little nephew wanted to check this movie, I thought I might as well check it out as well. Furthermore, since I heard it was the best installment in this franchise, I thought it might turn out to be a decent watch. Well, eventually, even ” read more

1 week, 4 days ago

A classic

“Since this movie has a really solid reputation, I was really eager to check it out. First of all, it is too bad that I saw before two really weak remakes ('Body Snatchers' and 'The Invasion'), without mentionning the countless copycats such as 'The World's End', as they slightly ruined the story for” read more

1 week, 5 days ago
johanlefourbe posted a review of Rebellion

A good movie

“What the hell happened to Mathieu Kassovitz's directing career? After the massive critical success of 'La haine', he became overnight the most promising French director at the time. Unfortunately, after the huge failure of 'Babylon A.D.', he decided to finish this pet project on which he spent maybe” read more

1 week, 6 days ago

An average movie

“I already saw this movie but since it was more than 20 years ago, I was quite eager to check it out again. Well, to be honest, even though I thought it was pretty neat when I was a kid, in fact, it is not really a good movie, I’m afraid. I mean, there were some nice bits, here and there, Jack Nich” read more

2 weeks ago
johanlefourbe posted a review of While We're Young

An average movie

“Since I have a weak spot for Noah Baumbach’s work, I was quite eager to check this movie. Well, the tricky thing with this director is that he very often focuses on some usually rather unlikeable characters and, to be honest, as a result, it is rather difficult to really care for them or what they” read more

2 weeks, 1 day ago
johanlefourbe posted a review of See How They Fall

A good movie

“I think I wanted to watch this movie for more than 15 years. In the mean time, I saw all the other movies directed by Jacques Audiard who has become easily one of the best French directors nowadays so I became even more eager to watch his directing debut. Well, eventually, even though it turned out ” read more

2 weeks, 2 days ago

An average movie

“When my daughter told me that she wanted to watch this movie, I have to admit that I didn't know at all what she was talking about which is usually not really a good omen. So, I looked it up and, honestly, I thought I looked really lame but we still ended up watching it in the movie theater together” read more

2 weeks, 3 days ago
johanlefourbe posted a review of The Last Face

An average movie

“When I heard that Sean Penn was finally coming back with a new directing effort, almost 10 long years after the amazing 'Into the Wild', obviously, I became quite excited. However, when it was released, it turned out to be a huge critical flop but I still wanted to check it out anyway. Unfortunately” read more

2 weeks, 3 days ago

A good movie

“Before watching this movie, I was hoping that it would be at least just as visually impressive as 'The Fifth Element' turned out to be 20 years ago. Well, eventually, I wasn't disappointed as this movie was easily the most amazing movie visually speaking that I have seen since 'Avatar'. Indeed, Luc ” read more

2 weeks, 4 days ago
johanlefourbe posted a review of Robot & Frank

A good movie

“Since I kept hearing some good things about this movie, I was quite eager to check it out. Well, eventually, it turned out to be a decent watch but not much more than that, to be honest. Indeed, after such movies like ‘Blade Runner’, ‘Her’ or ‘Ex Machina’, it is rather tricky to come up ” read more

2 weeks, 5 days ago
johanlefourbe posted a review of The Raven

An average movie

“I wasn’t sure what to expect from this flick but since there was a decent cast involved, I thought I might as well check it out. Well, even though the concept of focusing on the last days of Edgar Allen Poe was pretty neat, unfortunately, pretty much everything else didn’t really work though. In” read more

2 weeks, 6 days ago

An average movie

“I already saw this movie but since it was a while back and since I had it on DVD, I thought I might as well check it out again. According to IMDb, it is apparently Tony Scott’s 3rd best movie only behind ‘True Romance’ and ‘Man on Fire’ and I have to admit that it is indeed a really entert” read more

3 weeks ago

An average movie

“I already saw this movie but since it was a while back and since I had it on DVD, I thought I might as well check it out again. Well, even though my wife always had a weak spot for this movie, I always had a hard time to care about  the damned thing. I have to admit it, it was still a decent watch ” read more

3 weeks, 1 day ago

An average movie

“I wasn't really sure what to expect from this movie but since there was a decent cast involved, I thought I might as well check it out. Well, first of all, I have to admit that I didn't know much about Ernest Hemingway before watching this movie but, apparently, his life could definitely provide som” read more

3 weeks, 2 days ago

A very good movie

“Thanks to my film-club, I discovered Felix Van Groeningen and I was quite eager to check this movie which was apparently his best directing effort so far. Well, I wasn't disappointed, that's for sure,  as the damned thing turned out to be a fascinating and heartbreaking drama. I mean, to be honest,” read more

3 weeks, 3 days ago
johanlefourbe posted a review of Backdraft

An average movie

“I already saw this movie but since it was a while back and since I had it on DVD, I was quite eager to check it out again. I have noticed that, even though there are countless movies about cops, there are somehow not so many movies about firefighters and this movie must be by far the most famous one” read more

3 weeks, 3 days ago
johanlefourbe posted a review of The Call

An average movie

“I wasn't really expecting much from this flick but since I have a weak spot for Halle Berry, I thought I might as well check it out. Apparently, if you would put aside the X-Men franchise, it was the first box-office hit scored by Herry during the last 10 years but, to be honest, it wasn't really go” read more

3 weeks, 4 days ago
johanlefourbe posted a review of Double Indemnity

A great classic

“Since I'm a massive movie buff, of course, I had to watch this movie at some point. Well, eventually, I wasn't disappointed, that's for sure. Indeed, it was a spellbinding film noir, easily one of the best movies in this genre, and it completely deserved its stellar reputation. What I loved the most” read more

3 weeks, 4 days ago
johanlefourbe posted a review of The Maiden Heist

An average movie

“I had no idea what to expect from this flick but since there was a decent cast involved, I thought I might as well check it out. Well, to be honest, it did start with a dreadful first scene. Of course, I got the idea but it looked just lame and silly and, my first tought was that, after the terribly” read more

1 month ago

An average movie

“When I first heard about this movie, I had actually some high hopes. Indeed, for the first time around in almost 20 years, Clint Eastwood was finally playing the lead for another director than himself so I thought that if he would make such a come-back, it would be only for something really interest” read more

1 month ago
johanlefourbe posted a review of Game Change

A very good movie

“Since I had heard some interesting things about this movie, I was quite eager to check it out. First of all, even though I had heard about Sarah Palin, I couldn’t really remember what happened with her 10 years ago so it was pretty neat to discover what exactly went down at the time.  Eventually,” read more

1 month ago

A good movie

“Ever since I saw 'Little Odessa' and really loved the damned thing, I have been faithfully following James Gray but, to be honest, I alway had a hard time to really care about all the movies he made afterwards. This movie was unfortunately another example. I mean, like his previous directing efforts” read more

1 month ago

« Prev12 3 4 5 6 7 » 17 » 26 Next »

Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block