Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
All reviews - Movies (4970) - TV Shows (4)

A good movie

Posted : 23 hours, 23 minutes ago on 24 May 2016 09:42 (A review of The French Lieutenant's Woman)

To be honest, I had no idea what this movie was about so I wasn’t really sure what to expect from the damned thing but since I’m a huge fan of Meryl Streep, I was quite eager to check it out. What makes this movie interesting is that it mixes 2 dramas, a modern one and a period piece, involving somehow the same people but not exactly the same characters. I know, it sounds rather confusing but, if you watch the damned thing, it will definitely make sense. So, the set-up was quite interesting and Meryl Streep and Jeremy Irons (in his first leading part) were both really good here. Eventually, I’m afraid that this gimmick (which actually didn’t exist in the original novel, it was added to provide some kind of substitute to the 3 alternate endings provided by the book) while it was interesting, it still remain a gimmick with its limitations. Still, the whole thing definitely had some meta quality and it is one of the many really strong performances delivered by Streep in the 80’s. To conclude, even though it was maybe not a masterpiece, it was still a very original drama and it is definitely worth a look, especially if you are interested in Meryl Streep’s work. 



0 comments, Reply to this entry

A good movie

Posted : 1 day, 20 hours ago on 23 May 2016 12:17 (A review of The Hours)

Following the really popular but also rather generic ‘Billy Elliot’, Stephen Daldry came up with this follow-up which was much more ambitious and it turned out to be another critical success. Since it sounded really interesting, I was really eager to check it out and it was definitely a high priority for me. Well, to be honest, even though it was definitely a decent watch, I have to admit it, I actually had a hard time to care about this story. I mean, the directing was solid and there was definitely a stellar cast involved (Nicole Kidman, Julianne Moore, Meryl Streep, John C. Reilly, Toni Collette, Ed Harris, Claire Danes, Jeff Daniels). Especially for Kidman, this movie was basically the highlight of her career and she was even awarded the Academy Award for Best Actress in a Leading Role (while the movie itself was nominated for 8 other awards, it failed to win anything else though). On the other hand, it has been a while since I have seen this movie and I should definitely give it a 2nd chance at some point. To conclude, even though it didn’t really blow me away, it was still a pretty good drama and it is definitely worth a look, especially if you like the genre. 



0 comments, Reply to this entry

A good movie

Posted : 1 day, 23 hours ago on 23 May 2016 09:29 (A review of Cul-De-Sac)

Since it is a rather obscure feature, I wasn’t really sure what to expect from the damned thing but since I’m a huge fan of Roman Polanski, I was really eager to check it out. Basically, a year before,  Polanski just made ‘Repulsion’ with Catherine Deneuve. This movie turned out to be Polanski's first genuine masterpiece and, as a follow-up, he would make this flick starring Deneuve's older sister, Françoise Dorléac. You might have never heard of her but, in the 60’s,  she was actually, just like her sister, a very talented actress but she tragically died in a car accident a year after this movie was released. Anyway, coming back to our main feature, it is definitely one of the weirdest movies made by Polanski and, like most of his movie, it was obviously not really oriented towards the mainstream audience, that's for sure. There was not much of a plot and the whole thing was rather gloomy and unsettling but thanks to Polanski's directing, it was still quite spellbinding to watch, at least, that's my humble opinion. To conclude, even though it was not really a masterpiece, it was still a decent watch and  I think it is definitely worth a look, especially if you are interested in Roman Polanski’s work. 



0 comments, Reply to this entry

An average movie

Posted : 2 days, 17 hours ago on 22 May 2016 03:09 (A review of Why Did I Get Married?)

I have always find it rather weird that, when you check Tyler Perry's movies on Imdb, their ratings are always so damned low. I mean, he has got only one single directing effort, 'For Colored Girls', which did manage to reach a 6.0 rating and everything else is usually way down below. Anyway, I wanted to check if his movies were really so bad so I decided to watch this one since it was available on Netflix. Well, eventually, I find it rather difficult to judge it. I mean, the introduction was borderline awful and awkward and the whole therapeutic trip was just so lame. Finally, Janet Jackson was maybe the least believable psychologist I have ever saw and the lecture at the college was just really pathetic. So, it started pretty bad but, then, surprisingly, I have to admit that it started to slowly work on me. Indeed, as soon as the weak introduction was over and all the characters were arrived at the retreat, it started to become interesting. Basically, all these characters were different and flawed but, even if their actions were sometimes rather reprehensible, they all had something interesting to say. Hell, at some point, I even started to believe in Janet Jackson's character. To conclude, even if some good chunks were seriously misguided, I still think it is actually worth a look, especially if you like the genre.  


0 comments, Reply to this entry

A good movie

Posted : 3 days, 1 hour ago on 22 May 2016 07:31 (A review of X-Men: Apocalypse)

Following the really strong 'X-Men: Days of Future Past', easily the best installment in this franchise, I was really eager to check this new sequel and I was hoping it would be at least just as good. Unfortunately, even though it turned out to be a decent watch, I'm afraid it was a step-down from the previous movie. I mean, it was really spectacular, there was once again a whole bunch of cool and bad-ass super-heros but this story was just not really strong, I'm afraid. I mean, it was just about some super-strong villain who seems unstoppable and, during the last act, there is a huge battle but the heros still manage to prevail. I mean, how many times have we seen this by now? At least, Apocalypse was a really cool villain, absolutely, and I really enjoyed his introduction in ancient Egpyt but they didn't really build on that in my opinion. The other problem I had is that I'm starting to get fed up with those super-hero features overfilled with countless characters. Especially in this case, it took forever to tell what all the older characters have been doing until now and then to introduce all those new characters as well (I was especially disappointing by Psylocke who was displayed on all the promotional material when, in fact, Olivia Munn didn't have much to do except for looking stunning in a very sexy outfit). As a result, there was not much time for the plot at all. Anyway, in spite of its flaws, it was still a decent super-hero feature and I think it is worth a look, especially if you like the genre.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

An average movie

Posted : 3 days, 16 hours ago on 21 May 2016 05:04 (A review of Dirty Dancing)

For many women between 35 and 70 years old, this movie is a major classic. To be honest, I'm not sure the younger generation would really care for it but it is definitely one of my wife's favorite movies. Well, personally, I always had some mixed feelings about the damned thing. I mean, it is a decent romantic feature, absolutely,  there is a great soundtrack and the dancing was really good as well. Above all, Jennifer Grey and Patrick Swayze were both so cute and they had just a great chemistry together. However, in my opinion, the story wa just so borderline idiotic, it made it really difficult for me to take the whole thing seriously. Basically, it is about a summer fling taking place in a holiday resort mixed with some dancing which doesn't sound as bad as I thought it was would but, then, it was so poorly developed and, to make things worse, they added some heavy subjects like the class struggle and abortion which was illegal at the time. One fine example was how they want to believe that the father didn’t approve of Johnny Castle because of some lame misunderstanding, a miunderstanding which could have been cleared out right from the beginning but we all know that, in real life, it doesn't work this way, even in our modern age. Then, you had this completely ridiculous happy-ending, which is of course a fan favorite, but, as far as I'm concerned, it was rather childish and  something darker would have worked better for me. Anyway, even if I'm not a huge fan, I have to admit it, it is still a decent watch and it is definitely worth a look, especially if you like the genre. 


0 comments, Reply to this entry

A very good movie

Posted : 4 days, 23 hours ago on 20 May 2016 09:41 (A review of The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo)

Since I kept hearing some really great things about this franchise, I was really eager to check it out. Eventually, I even managed to convince my wife to watch this and we had the opportunity to watch the extended versions  as they were divided in 6 episodes on TV. Well, we were not disappointed and we both really loved the damned thing. Indeed, the directing was really solid, it was a very intense and entertaining story and, above all, Lisbeth Salander turned out to be one of the most fascinating characters I have ever seen. Indeed, not only Noomi Rapace gave a very strong performance and then became an international star thanks to this franchise, this character was just so well written, she was just mesmerizing to behold. Eventually, since I really loved these movies, I read all the books and, in fact, I think that Salander was even better in the movies because she was more mysterious. Anyway, it was a great thriller, not doubt about it. Eventually, only 2 years later, they would come up with a US remake which gave me some mixed feelings. Indeed, on one hand, since it was directed by David Fincher, it was obviously pretty awesome, but, on the other hand, it was also seriously pointless since this original Swedish was already amazing. Anyway, to conclude, I really loved the damned thing and it is definitely worth a look, especially if you like the genre. 



0 comments, Reply to this entry

A good movie

Posted : 5 days ago on 20 May 2016 08:58 (A review of Escape from Alcatraz)

Since I always had a weak spot for Clint Eastwood, I was really eager to check this movie. On top of that, it was the last movie Eastwood would make with Don Siegel (they eventually made 5 movies together) so the whole thing sounded really neat. Basically, it turned out to be a rather classic and straightforward prison break thriller but the whole thing was so well made and Clint Eastwood was so charismatic, I thought it was pretty damned entertaining. Furthermore, to make this story take place in Alcatraz, probably the most famous prison that ever existed, was a great idea as well. Eventually, even though this movie never got the status of ‘Dirty Harry’, it was certainly not far behind quality-wise. In my opinion, I believe it was slightly missing some depths about the characters and the plot, while very effective, was after all still rather generic. In this genre, I prefer ‘The Shawshank Redemption’ which is still the ultimate masterpiece but this movie is still one of the best anyway. To conclude, even though it was probably not really groundbreaking, it was still pretty bad-ass and entertaining and it is definitely worth a look, especially if you are interested in Clint Eastwood’s work as an actor. 



0 comments, Reply to this entry

An average movie

Posted : 5 days, 21 hours ago on 19 May 2016 11:55 (A review of Erin Brockovich)

It has been a while since I have seen this flick and maybe I should give it another chance at some point. I always had a weak spot for Steven Soderbergh and, back then, he was pretty much at the top of his game but, to be honest, I wasn’t really blown away by the whole thing though. I mean, sure, it was well made, the story was fairly entertaining but it was not much more than that, I’m afraid. It’s like Julia Roberts, even she did deliver a solid performance, probably one of the best in her career, it doesn’t mean much. In my opinion, the whole thing is pretty much a blockbuster which pretends to be an indie production and to see Julia Roberts with some major cleavage and swearing a lot was neat but it still didn’t qualify as a great performance, at least, not in my book. The very same year , Sodebergh would also release ‘Traffic’ and it was miles better in my opinion. Anyway, to conclude, even though I think it is rather overrated, I have to admit it, it was still a decent watch and it is worth a look, especially if you like the genre or if you have a weak spot for Julia Roberts. 



0 comments, Reply to this entry

A very good movie

Posted : 6 days, 11 hours ago on 18 May 2016 09:12 (A review of Sicario)

Since I kept hearing some really good things about this movie, I was really eager to check it out. On top of that, I have enjoyed all the movies directed by Denis Villeneuve that I have seen so far  ('Incendies', 'Prisoners', 'Enemy'), so I had some rather high expectations concerning this movie. Well, eventually, even though I thought it was really good, I have to admit that it didn't completely blew me away though. I mean, it was definitely a strong production, no doubt it, with a great cast (Emily Blunt,  Benicio Del Toro, Josh Brolin), a very solid directing and one of the best stories about the war on drugs I have seen for a very long time. While watching this, somehow, I couldn't stop thinking about all the people going on holidays in Mexico. I mean, how could you go there to have some fun when you aware of all the atrocities going on there? So, it was definitely some strong and dark material and, yet, something bothered me about the damned thing though. Basically, you are pretty much like Emily Blunt's character, they keep you in the dark during the whole thing and, as a result, the plot was sometimes rather murky and  I'm not sure I was really able to follow everything and now that I have seen the damned thing, I'm not sure that everything really made sense. Anyway, even though it wasn’t a complete home-run, it was not far from it and it is definitely worth a look, especially if you like the genre. 


0 comments, Reply to this entry


« Prev12 3 4 5 6 7 » 17 » 498 Next »

Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block