Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
Listal logo
All reviews - Movies (5805) - TV Shows (10)

A good movie

Posted : 1 week, 2 days ago on 12 May 2018 05:08 (A review of All the Money in the World (2017))

Back in 2017, Ridley Scott pulled off the marketing stunt of the year. Indeed, just about a month before this movie was released, he decided to reshoot all the scenes involving Kevin Spacey, who had just been hit by a massive sex-scandal, and replace him with Christopher Plummer. Even though Scott had been praised for this decision, in fact, it was only a win-win situation for him. Indeed, he actually never wanted Spacey for this role as he had been chosen/imposed by the studio and, on top of that, it was an unique opportunity to show to the rest of the world that only a great director like him could pull off such a stunt. Even for the studio, it was a good deal since the movie got much more media coverage than it would have received under normal circumstances. And, indeed, the whole thing looked great and it felt like Plummer had been involved from the very beginning. On top of that, he gave a very solid performance and it is hard to believe that Spacey would have done any better with tons of make-up and prosthetics. And, yet, if you put this stunt aside, was it really a great movie? Not really, I'm afraid. Basically, it was a typical effort from this director. I mean, it looked great, the material had a lot of potential but it still felt either rushed or lazy. For example, during the introduction, you get to meet John Paul Getty II and his happy family but, then, within a few minutes, he became a drug-addict living in Morocco. This character was just so poorly handled, without mentioning the fact that the guy was apparently actually much more involved in the negotiations with the kidnappers. Then, they made the mistake of focusing on one of the kidnappers. It was obviously made up but, above all, completely uninteresting and it was even worse that they chose Romain Duris, a French actor, to play this character. Another mystery was Mark Wahlberg's character. Seriously, what was the point of this character? At what point was he actually really helpful? I mean, to make us believe that he was the one who gave a heartfelt speech to John Paul Getty who would finally change his mind was just really ludicrous. Anyway, to conclude, I think I'm being rather generous with my rating here but it was an interesting story and Ridley Scott knows how to direct a good looking picture but there is no doubt that it could have been so much better.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

A good movie

Posted : 1 week, 3 days ago on 11 May 2018 09:03 (A review of Salo, or the 120 Days of Sodom)

In spite of or because of its controversial reputation, I was quite eager to check this movie. On top of that, it had been years since I saw a movie directed by Pier Paolo Pasolini. Well, eventually, it definitely deserves its reputation as it was easily one of the most f*cked-up movies I have ever seen and I have seen quite a lot of weird and messed-up flicks. In fact, the sex scenes were not so unbearable but it was the first time I saw a movie dealing with scatology and these scenes were just awful to behold. Later on, it didn't get much better with some horrible torture scenes. Seriously, compared to this movie, such movies like 'Saw' or 'Hostel' were pretty much like a walk in a park. Eventually, what was Pasolini's point? In my opinion, he wanted to show that Fascism was and still is the most decadent, depraved and insane political ideology that ever existed. Still, even though I have a weak spot for nightmarish movies, Pasolini went really far here and I think I will remain nauseous for a couple of days after watching this flick. Anyway, to conclude, I'm not sure if I should recommend to watch, I will probably never re-watch it ever again and you should be fully aware of its content before watching the damned thing.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

A classic

Posted : 1 week, 4 days ago on 10 May 2018 07:22 (A review of Woman in the Dunes)

I wasn't really sure what to expect from this movie but since this one was included in the '1001 Movies You Must See Before You Die' list, I was quite eager to check it out. First of all, it is obvious that you can't really analyse this movie as a straightforward story as the concept was rather preposterous. I mean, let's assume that this village would really need to dig the sand to survive, it would be much easier and efficient to send some of the local villagers every 3 months willingly going down there for a specific period of time instead of kidnapping some poor random guy. Eventually, it was a very subtle parable but did I really get what the director wanted to tell us? I'm not so sure as I might not be smart enough. As far as I was concerned, I saw it as a psychological thriller with some erotic undertones. Furthermore, I think it was about the fact that, in order to survive, we all need a purpose, even if almost everything we do might seem pointless and we might as well dig endlessly in the sand. To conclude, even if I'm not sure if I fully understood this movie, it was still a really interesting watch and it is definitely worth a look, especially if you like the genre.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

A good movie

Posted : 1 week, 6 days ago on 8 May 2018 09:10 (A review of Predestination (2014))

Since I kept hearing some pretty good things about this movie, I was quite eager to check it out. Well, I have to admit that I was rather floored  by the damned thing and it had been a while since I saw such a massive mind-f*ck. To be honest, I don't think it is possible to write a review for this movie without completely spoiling it so, if you haven't seen it yet, you should stop reading right now. Eventually, I'm glad I didn't know anything before watching the damned thing and I'm sure it made this movie much more enjoyable. Basically, it is a movie dealing with time travelling and, besides giving one of the most ridiculous time machines I have ever seen, it went all the way into the huge paradoxes involved in the concept of time travelling. Still, while the whole thing was quite spellbinding and entertaining, there were quite a lot of plot-holes. The biggest one, in my opinion, was the fact that John would start a relationship with Jane when he was fully aware of the fact they were in fact the very same person. I mean, could you imagine changing your gender, go back in the past and have sex with yourself? Especially in this case, even if you put aside how completely weird such a relationship could be, John knew it would actually ruin Jane's life and, in fact, his own life as well, so why woiuld he do something like that? I could mention more elements that didn't really add up so the whole thing didn't make much sense but it was still quite fascinating to watch and I think it is definitely worth a look, especially if you like the genre.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

A good movie

Posted : 2 weeks ago on 8 May 2018 08:42 (A review of Dear White People (2014))

I wasn’t really sure what to expect from this flick but the title was pretty catchy and since it was available on Netflix, I thought I might as well check out the damned thing. First of all, one thing I liked about this flick was how it depicted the life on a college campus. Indeed, you always get to hear in American movies that to go to college is just so damned amazing but I had always my doubts (personally, I went to college was myself in Europe and even though I didn’t hate it, it didn’t turn out to be anything really mindblowing). Well, this movie finally displayed that college is actually not much better than high-school after all which was a pretty good start. It was also dealing with an interesting subject, on how a supposedly educated environment as an Ivy league university is dealing with the complexity of the race issues nowadays in the USA.  Still, even though the whole thing was pretty good, in fact, it could have been much better in my opinion.  The main issue was that, even though the characters were interesting enough, because they were in my opinion just too many of them, there was not enough time to develop them and, as a result, they were all rather stereotypical after all. Sure, the black rebel was having sex with a white boy and the popular successful black guy was smoking weed and wanted to be a comedian but that was not enough to break these stereotypes. Still, even if it wasn’t a complete homerun, it was a decent watch and it is definitely worth a look, especially if you like the genre. 



0 comments, Reply to this entry

An average movie

Posted : 2 weeks, 3 days ago on 4 May 2018 10:24 (A review of Anon)

Even though I really loved 'Gattaca', I didn't care much for the recent movies delivered by Andrew Niccol but since this movie was available on Netflix, I thought I might as well check it out. Well, eventually, even though it was a decent watch, to be honest, it was only a slight improvement on 'Good Kill', 'The Host' and 'In Time'. Basically, while the concept was fairly interesting and extremely relevant today, it was nothing really groundbreaking and it seemed that it missed something to become really fascinating. Above all, a bigger issue was the fact that the whole thing was in fact rather boring. I mean, Amanda Seyfried, who was quite charming as usual, had a nice mysterious character but the main character played by Clive Owen was just not complex enough and a total bore to watch. Seriously, they had to go for the old gimmick of the divorced detective grieving for his dead child?!? That was just some really lazy writing, just like the fact that, in this mix of science-fiction with a film noire, this detective had to have sex with this femme fatale at some point. At least, the 3rd act wasn't completely lame but it still turned out to be pretty weak after all. Anyway, to conclude, the whole thing turned out to be yet another half-baked science-fiction feature from Netflix which is slowly turning into some kind of dumpster, my rating was probably too generous for this movie but I guess it is worth a look though.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

A good movie

Posted : 2 weeks, 4 days ago on 4 May 2018 08:21 (A review of Hidden Figures)

Since this movie was very well received, I was quite eager to check it out. Eventually, even though it was still slightly too sweet and upbeat for my taste, it was still a really solid historical drama. The first thing that I enjoyed was that these amazing black women didn’t need some white folks to succeed which was something that seriously bothered with such movies like ‘The Help’ or ‘The Blind Side’ which might have been really successful at the box-office but these movies were actually seriously overrated and I actually preferred this movie. It was also interesting to see how segregation actually got in the way for the USA in their quest to remain a super-power, in the race for space but also in general and, because of this backward way of thinking, they were actually wasting some of their greatest minds. Still, this movie gave me the feeling, obviously not on the purpose, that it was acceptable to treat these women like equals only because they were expectional. Of course, you might argue that you have to start somewhere but I thought it was seriously unfair to the average black folks who also deserved to be treated fairly. Anyway, to conclude, even though I don’t think it was anything really groundbreaking, it was still seriously inspiring and it is definitely worth a look, especially if you like the genre. 



0 comments, Reply to this entry

A good movie

Posted : 2 weeks, 5 days ago on 3 May 2018 08:46 (A review of Tyrannosaur)

Since I kept hearing some really good things about this movie, I was really eager to check it out. At first, I thought it would be a heartbreaking portrayal of a violent and pathetic man, the kind of movies you watch half fascinated by the work done by the leader actor and half disgusted by the antics of the main character. Eventually, it turned out to be  slightly more subtle than I expected as the guy constantly switched between being seriously destructive and being actually almost kind and sweet. I have to admit that I was not so sure if I really cared about the mood swings which were, in my opinion, slightly too convenient for the plot. Still, there is not denying that Peter Mullan, easily one of the most underrated actors that ever lived, gave another really strong performance and the guy was just spellbinding to behold. Concerning the woman the main character met, to be honest,  I wasn’t really convinced either. I mean, Olivia Colman gave also a solid performance but the way the characters met each other was just too random for my taste and, above all, I didn’t really buy how they bonded either. Anyway, to conclude, even though it didn’t completely blow me away, it was still a really solid drama with a great performance from Mullan and it is definitely worth a look, especially if you like the genre.  



0 comments, Reply to this entry

An average movie

Posted : 2 weeks, 5 days ago on 2 May 2018 08:15 (A review of Vinyl (1965))

I heard of Andy Warhol's experimental movies but even though they sounded rather boring and pretentious, since this one was included in the '1001 Movies You Must See Before You Die' list, I thought I might as well check it out. First of all, let's be obvious, would anyone really care about it if it would have been directed by another really obscure artist? I seriously doubt it but I have to admit that it was still an interesting watch though. First of all, it did help that I did read 'A Clockwork Orange' and saw Kubrick's version a couple of times, otherwise, I would have been completely unable to follow the damned thing. Concerning the directing, was it really artistic or just really amateurish? Again, it is hard to tell but it is something that might be said about all the Art work delivered by Warhol. And, yet, there was still something quite mesmerising about the damned thing and, somehow, he did manage to bring other the nihilism and the oppressive feeling from this classic book. Still, I'm glad that it was fairly short as it became increasingly random and chaotic towards the end. Anyway, to conclude, in spite of its flaws, I still think it is worth a look, especially if you are interested in Andy Warhol's work or if you are into experimental movies.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

A good movie

Posted : 2 weeks, 6 days ago on 1 May 2018 10:11 (A review of The Killer Inside Me)

Since I always had a weak spot for Michael Winterbottom's work, I was really eager to check this movie. Well, even though I actually liked the damned thing, unfortunately, like most of Winterbottom's other movies, it still turned out to be rather half-baked. First of all, the guy has tackled so many genres and, this time, he went for a film noir and really nailed it. Indeed, it looked fine and the mood was just spot-on. Then, Casey Affleck, one of the most interesting actors at work nowadays, gave another strong performance, he basically carried the whole thing on his shoulders and his character was just spellbinding to behold. I must admit that I was also quite impressed by Jessica Alba who gave here one of the very few interesting performances in her otherwise seriously boring career. And, yet, in spite some very strong potential, it still didn't completely worked, I'm afraid. Indeed, basically, there were too much stuff in the story that didn't really add up. For example, it didn't make much sense that Elias Koteas's character, who was just some union guy, would keep playing detective like this. Then, in the 3rd act, the whole thing started to make less and less sense and the ending was pretty much ludicrous. Anyway, to conclude, in spite of its flaws, I still liked the damned thing and I think it is worth a look, especially if you like the genre. 


0 comments, Reply to this entry



Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block