Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
Listal logo
All reviews - Movies (5969) - TV Shows (11)

An average movie

Posted : 1 day, 23 hours ago on 12 December 2018 09:08 (A review of Mowgli: Legend of the Jungle)

Even though this movie was rather poorly received like most of Netflix original films, I still wanted to check it out. Of course, the first issue with this movie was that Jon Favreau had released another version of this tale just a couple of years ago and the fact that this movie turned out to be a big critical and commercial success didn’t help either. Still, even without Disney’s recent retooling, I’m not sure that this version would have been much better received. First of all, even though the CGI was sometimes impressive, it was sometimes also rather weak. For example, Baloo, in fact Andy Serkis’s own character, was especially ugly. Furthermore, even though Rohan Chand was fine in ‘Bad Words’, I thought he was actually rather weak here. But, eventually, the biggest issue I had was this story. I mean, this tale is decent enough but, by now, I have seen so many versions and I think I’m pretty much done with it and even though this movie was supposed to be a darker version, at the end of the day, it was still about some talking animals so it didn’t become extremely dark or really original. Eventually, the only interesting thing was Mowgli’s struggle between the fact that he is a human and the fact that he grew with some wolves but, unfortunately, this interesting dilemma, never really explored before with this character, came just way too late and it could or should have been so much more developed. Anyway, to conclude, I think my rating was rather generous here, I guess it still worth a look but there is no doubt that it was a rather useless new version. 



0 comments, Reply to this entry

A good movie

Posted : 4 days, 18 hours ago on 9 December 2018 01:49 (A review of The Beguiled (2017))

Even though this movie didn't make much waves when it was released, since it was directed by Sofia Coppola, I still wanted to check it out. On top of that, even though I didn't recall much about Don Siegel's version which I saw years ago, I still could remember that it was a rather spellbinding tale. Well, Coppola delivered once again a gorgeous picture and she had a stellar cast at her disposal (Colin Farrell, Nicole Kidman, Kirsten Dunst, Elle Fanning). However, even if the first half was pretty much pitch-perfect in creating an ominous erotic tension between pretty much all these girls/women and this man, it didn't work so well in the second part I'm afraid. The main issue was with the pivotal scene when McBurney get caught with Alicia (Elle Fanning). Indeed, why on Earth did he choose her when he could have just as easily chosen Martha (Nicole Kidman) or Edwina (Kirsten Dunst)? Eventually, I think the movie was too short so there was no time to develop any of the characters, especially the female ones and, in fact, this movie had indeed a considerably shorter runtime than Siegel’s film which worked better in my opinon. Coming back to this major scene, afterwards, the whole thing made a massive U turn but this change of hearts from all the characters was too jarring leaving not much room than deliver the viewers a rather predictable conclusion. Anyway, to conclude, in spite of its flaws, it was still a decent watch and it is worth a look, especially if you are interested in Sofia Coppola's work.  


0 comments, Reply to this entry

A good movie

Posted : 5 days ago on 9 December 2018 08:19 (A review of The Young Savages)

To be honest, I wasn't really sure what to expect from this movie but since it was directed by John Frankenheimer, I thought I might as well check it out. Well, not so long ago, I actually saw 'The Warriors' which was also dealing with some New York gangs but while 'The Warriors' might be a cult-classic, I actually preferred this obscure flick. Indeed, the approach was here far more realistic and, therefore, much more interesting to me. The journey made by this D.A. was also intriguing and I enjoyed the way the displayed the dark reality of the people living in these neighborhoods. The only issue I had was with the ending. Indeed, while the prosection should have been arguing against the accused, Burt Lancaster was actually arguing more on their behalf than their actual lawyer. The argument was that he was seeking the truth but that's nonsense, the D.A. is supposed to look for evidence to convict the accused, not to exonerate them. That's the tricky thing, on one hand, they tried to give a realistic story but, on the other hand, they still wanted to be able to provide some kind of happy ending which could have come up from a fairy tale. Anyway, in spite of its flaws, it was still a decent watch and it is worth a look, especially if you like the genre. 


0 comments, Reply to this entry

A good movie

Posted : 5 days, 18 hours ago on 8 December 2018 01:48 (A review of Kill List)

Since I kept hearing some interesting things about Ben Wheatley, I was quite eager to check one of his movies. Well, even though I did like it, it actually turned out to be of these movies which are equally fascinating and frustrating to watch. Basically, as usual, I knew pretty much nothing about the damned thing before watching it but I'm pretty sure it's the best way to appreciate this movie. Anyway, at first, it seemed to be a fairly realistic drama mixed with a thriller which was already interesting enough but, at some point, it suddenly became some kind of horror flick mixed with a huge mind-f*ck. Seriously, in the last act, it felt like watching a David Lynch flick so if you like the genre, you will be thrilled, otherwise, you will keep scratching your head wondering what the hell is actually going on. As far as I was concerned, I constantly admired the work done but while this approach was interesting, I thought it was also rather frustrating. Indeed, I don't really see the artistic value of throwing some random scenes without any rational explanation only to turn your movie into some kind of unsolvable enigma. Anyway, even if it wasn't a complete home-run, I really enjoyed the acting and the directing, it was a decent watch and it is definitely worth a look, especially if you are interested in this director. 


0 comments, Reply to this entry

An average movie

Posted : 6 days, 22 hours ago on 7 December 2018 10:02 (A review of Texasville)

Since I really enjoyed ‘The Last Picture Show’, I thought I might as well check this rather obscure sequel. Well, this movie was the perfect example that  releasing a sequel 20 years after a stellar movie is not always a guarantee for success. First of all, I have to admit that it has been years since I saw ‘The Last Picture Show’ but I’m pretty sure the tone of this sequel didn’t match at all the tone of its predecessor. Another thing that bothered me was that, even though it was pretty neat that many characters came back for this sequel, I actually struggled to keep track on who was who and it didn’t help that so many names sounded so similar (Jacy, Sonny, Dickie, Shorty, Julie, Nellie, Suzie, Benny,…). Still, there were some interesting scenes, especially those involving Duane and Jacy. Indeed, I did appreciate the fact that they didn’t get involved romantically and it was also interesting that Jacy got along fine with Duane’s wife. Unfortunately, those were the only things I found interesting and the rest of the movie was just a disjointed mess. Furthermore, while these characters were quite fascinating in ‘The Last Picture Show’, they were rather boring this time around and I really didn’t care much for them. Anyway, to conclude, I think I was rather generous with my rating here but I guess it is still worth a look, especially if you enjoyed The Last Picture Show’.



0 comments, Reply to this entry

A good movie

Posted : 1 week, 1 day ago on 5 December 2018 09:43 (A review of A Monster Calls (2016))

Since I kept hearing some really good things about this flick, I was quite eager to check it out. Well, to be honest, I didn’t think it was really so original and, on top of that, I’m not really a huge fan of these movies mixing a serious drama with some fantasy elements.  Still, even if it didn’t really blow me away, it was still a really solid flick nonetheless. Obviously, the CGI and special effects were fine but, eventually, what I enjoyed the most was in fact the really strong performance probvided by Lewis MacDougall. Indeed, the guy was really impressive and I could really feel the stress, the exhaustion and the despair that this young boy was going through. The conclusion of this tale was also really strong and you can only imagine the internal struggle this poor boy was going through and it actually made sense that he might try to find some kind of coping mechanism in such a fantastic world. To be honest, the final scene showing that his mother apparently also had some connection with the monster was actually rather useless but, fortunately, it wasn’t a deal breaker. Anyway, to conclude, it was pretty good and it is definitely worth a look, especially if you like the genre. 



0 comments, Reply to this entry

A good movie

Posted : 1 week, 2 days ago on 4 December 2018 09:00 (A review of War for the Planet of the Apes)

Since I really enjoyed the 2 previous installments in this franchise, I was quite eager to check this one as well. Well, to be honest, even though I did like this flick, I thought it was still a slight step back from the previous movie.  The main thing with this movie was that, even though some of the scenes were really strong, the sum of these scenes was however never really great. Furthermore, in my opinion, it didn’t provide anything really new this time around. For example, what was the point of this mute girl? What did she really add to this story? In my opinion, nothing much as she was just another attempt to show that the apes are so nice and in fact much more humane than the humans fighting them but it has been done before in this franchise and, by now, I really got the point. At least, I really liked this new character ‘Bad Ape’ who gave a new dimension to the whole ape concept concerning their origins and their possible evolution. And, of course, Cesar remains such a fascinating character and this franchise keeps displaying some of the best use of CGI I have ever seen.  Anyway, to conclude, even though it was maybe not a masterpiece, it was still a solid blockbuster and it is definitely worth a look, especially if you like the genre. 



1 comments, Reply to this entry

An average movie

Posted : 1 week, 4 days ago on 2 December 2018 12:25 (A review of Art School Confidential (2006))

Since I really loved 'Ghost World', I was really eager to see this other collaboration involving Terry Zwigoff and Daniel Clowes and I had some rather high expectations. Well, unfortunately, this movie turned out to be rather disappointing after all. I mean, you could see the damned thing definitely had some potential providing us with a compelling and gritty depiction of art school but, to be honest, it never really worked. Basically, I guess that the makers tried to play around with the idea that art school is in fact pretty much like any other school, with exactly the same clichés, except that what you learn in art school might be even more meaningless. Indeed, can you actually learn to become an artist while following some classes? How are you supposed to grade a work of Art? So, on paper, it did sound fine but it just never worked and it was not much better than your average college flick. To make things worse, even though Max Minghella did look the part, he gave a rather weak performance but he wasn't helped by the fact that his character was rather pathetic by claiming to be willing to become a great artist when in fact he was obsessing about getting laid, especially with the hottest girl in his school. Finally, there was this weird and completely half-baked sub-plot about some serial-killer around the campus which didn't work at all. Anyway, to conclude, in spite of its flaws, I still think it is worth a look but, considering the great people involved, there is no doubt that it should have much better than this 


0 comments, Reply to this entry

An average movie

Posted : 1 week, 5 days ago on 1 December 2018 10:29 (A review of Hartenstrijd)

I wasn't expecting much from this flick but since my wife really likes this kind of Dutch romantic-comedies, I thought we might as well watch it together. Well, even though it was slightly better than the other movies in this genre, I still didn't care much for the damned thing, I'm afraid. To be honest, I have to admit that it actually had some potential. In my opinion, if they would have chosen a darker and more realistic approach, it could have been actually even pretty good. Indeed, there was something interesting about this womaniser losing his father who was also apparently a womanizer himself. Instead of following the traditional formula, they could have made this character going through a depressing mourning phase rethinking his way of life in the process. Unfortunately, this aspect was actually barely developed and, instead, they came up with some bet which is such a really old boring rom-com gimmick. Concerning Jennifer Hoffman, she must be one of the loveliest Dutch actresses nowadays and she was just really charming here but she wasn't helped with such a generic and rather tedious story. Anyway, to conclude, even if I have seen worse, it was still rather weak and I don't think it is really worth a look, except maybe if you are a die-hard fan of the genre.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

An average movie

Posted : 1 week, 5 days ago on 1 December 2018 07:59 (A review of The Grinch)

I wasn't really expecting much from this flick but I haven't seen many movies so far this year with my youngest daughter so I thought we might as well watch this one in the movie theater. Well, even though it turned out to be another decent effort from Illumination Entertainment, to be honest, I didn't care much for the damned thing. I mean, sure, the animation was fine and the Grinch remains a fun character but, in my opinion, the story was rather tedious. In fact, I don't really blame the makers, the issue is that, even though the concept might be fine for a children book, it is just too fine for a full length feature for the whole family. I know, this tale is considered as one of the most iconic kids stories ever told but I just don't feel much connection at all with this tale. In fact, while watching this movie, I was thinking that 'The Nightmare Before Christmas', probably one of my favorite movies, actually took most of its plot from this story but it was so much more spellbinding to behold. Maybe I should watch Chuck Jones's version which has always been heralded and since it was much shorter, it didn't have to fill the running time with some rather useless jokes so it might be fine. Anyway, coming back to our main feature, to conclude, in spite of its flaws, it is not the worse thing you could watch with your kids but, on your own, it will probably seriously bore you.


0 comments, Reply to this entry


« Prev12 3 4 5 6 7 » 17 » 500 Next »