Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
Listal logo
All reviews - Movies (6289) - TV Shows (12)

An average movie

Posted : 1 day, 20 hours ago on 21 February 2020 10:27 (A review of An Invisible Sign (2010))

To be honest, I wasn't really sure what to expect from this flick but since I have a weak spot for Jessica Alba, I thought I might as well check it out. Well, unfortunately, it turned out to so much weaker than I could have ever anticipated. Indeed, the whole thing started with a rather cringe-inducing whimsical intro and, right there, I  already knew that the rest of the movie would probably be lame. At least, I have to give Alba some credit for trying something else but I'm afraid she wasn't really convincing as some kind of autistic nerd. In fact, for some obscure reason, half of the characters displayed some autistic behavior but that wasn't an actual issue. A bigger problem was that the whole story was just so poorly put together with the usual annoying quirky tone. I mean, right from the moment the main character get thrown out of her parents house, her mother managed to find the perfect job for her. On top of that, this seemingly socially dysfunctional woman hated becoming a teacher (again, so predictable) but, of course, she became great at it, something she discovered during her first day. And, of course, one of her co-workers turned out to be an attractive smart man who completely understood and even loved her quirky behaviour. Anyway, to conclude, the whole thing was just pretty weak and I don't think it is really worth a look, except maybe if you are a die-hard fan of Jessica Alba.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

An average movie

Posted : 2 days, 9 hours ago on 20 February 2020 10:01 (A review of Café de Flore)

I had no idea what to expect from this movie but since I have a weak spot for Vanessa Paradis, I thought I might as well check it out. Well, to be honest, I really struggled to get a grip on the damned thing. Basically, Jean-Marc Vallée tried to mix here two completely different tales, one taking place in the 60's in Paris and one taking place today in Montreal, and while both stories were quite compelling, especially the modern one, the constant switching between the 2 stories was just jarring. On top of that, I was constantly wondering what could be the connection which was terribly distracting. Eventually, it turned out to be apparently about reincarnation (in the 60's, Carole was Jacqueline. She was Antoine's mother who was in love with Véronique who was then reincarnated as Rose and, in the 60's, Jacqueline killed herself, her son and his girlfriend). Of course, it was seriously far fetched  and hard to swallow. After a while and after I gave it some thoughts, the concept did have some potential but this explanation came too late. Furthermore, in my opinion, it would have then made more sense to focus the modern tale on Carole instead of Antoine. Anyway, to conclude, in spite or its flaws, it was still pretty intense and thoughtful and it is therefore worth a look, especially if you're interested in Jean-Marc Vallée's work.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

A good movie

Posted : 3 days, 19 hours ago on 19 February 2020 11:52 (A review of Winter Sleep)

To be honest, I really had no idea what to expect from this flick but since it had won the Golden Palm at the Cannes Film Festival, I was really eager to check it out. Well, with a running time of more than 3 hours, it was definitely a challenging watch and the fact that basically nothing much happened through the whole thing didn’t help either. At least, Nuri Bilge Ceylan did deliver a beautiful movie to look at but since the characters didn’t go really anywhere, it did become rather monotonous fairly quickly. So, what did the guy try to achieve with this rather overlong flick? In my opinion, it was some kind of character study dealing with emptiness and boredom. Indeed, at first, the main character seemed to be a soft-spoken educated and sophisticated man. However, it became obvious pretty quickly that the guy was terribly self-absorbed and had no connection with his community but not much even with his sister and his wife. I mean, most of the dialogues involved some seemingly intellectual conversations but, at the end of the day, it was only some platitudes and I’m not surprised that the director had been inspired by Russian literature. Of course, you could blame the main character but, in my opinion, his sister and his wife were not really much better. Indeed, they were both complaining about how boring and empty their life had become, mostly blaiming the main character for it, but it was rather dubious that their lives had been so difficult and, above all, they were not willing to do anything to really improve their situation. Concerning the main character, he spent most of his time trying to convince everyone around him on how he important he was when, in fact, the only thing he pretty much did was aimlessly wandering around. Still, 3 hours was quite a long time to spend with some characters who were neither really likeable and/or interesting after all. Anyway, to conclude, even if it is not an easy movie, it was still a decent watch and it is definitely worth a look, especially if you like the genre. 



0 comments, Reply to this entry

A good movie

Posted : 4 days, 19 hours ago on 18 February 2020 11:22 (A review of At Eternity's Gate)

To be honest, I’m not really sure if we really needed yet another movie about this tormented artist but since I always had a weak spot for Julian Schnabel’s work, I was really eager to check it out. Well, after Jean-Michel Basquiat, Reinaldo Arenas and Jean-Dominique Bauby, Schnabel, himself a famous painter, focused once again on another artist, the big difference was that, this time, it was easily one of the most famous artists that ever lived. And, that was probably the biggest obstacle that this movie had to face. Indeed, what can you say about the guy that hasn’t been said so many times before? In my opinion, by focus mostly on his mental state which was a pretty neat approach, Schnabel did partially succeed but not completely though. Basically, according to the makers, Van Gogh was constantly overwhelmed by the beauty in our world but this process was so intense that he became some kind of Icarus who got too close and basically completely burned his soul. As a result, it was also really difficult for him to connect with other people, in fact, there were probably just a handful of people with whom he really managed to develop a lasting and meaningful relationship. So, eventually, even though the guy was probably one of the greatest geniuses that ever lived, he led a terribly tormented and lonely life but, even though I liked the impressionist approach chosen by Julian Schnabel, it was nothing really groundbreaking. At least, I really liked the fact that they did show the painting process which is something actually really rare in this kind of biopics and this process was quite fascinating to behold. Anyway, to conclude, even though I don’t think it turned out to be the ultimate biopic about this great painter, it was still pretty good though and it is definitely worth a look, especially if you like the genre. 



0 comments, Reply to this entry

An average movie

Posted : 5 days, 21 hours ago on 17 February 2020 09:59 (A review of The Stepfather)

I wasn’t expecting much from this flick but since it was available on Netflix, I thought I might as well check it out. Well, I wonder if the original version starring Terry O'Quinn was any good but this remake was pretty weak, I’m afraid. Basically, it was supposed to be a rather creepy movie about some rather creepy guy but, to be honest, I wasn’t impressed by the end-result, in fact, far from it. The first issue was that Dylan Walsh was never charismatic enough when he was acting like a ‘good’ guy and he was never threatening enough when he was going full psycho. Another problem was that nothing much really happened through the damned thing. As a result, to fill up the running time, they apparently made the rather weird decision to add so many scenes possible involving Amber Heard around the pool in her bikini. I mean, Amber Heard was and still is extremely lovely to look at but, even if the stepfather was really weid and creepy, he wasn’t a sex predator at all (in fact, his motivations were never really properly developed) so it was definitely a rather dubious decision. Anyway, to conclude, I think I was actually rather generous with my rating here, the damned thing was pretty weak and I don’t think it is really worth a look. 



0 comments, Reply to this entry

An average movie

Posted : 6 days, 11 hours ago on 16 February 2020 07:48 (A review of De Beentjes van Sint Hildegard)

To be honest, when I heard that we would watch the latest movie directed by Johan Nijhenhuis, I can't say I shared the enthusiasm displayed by the rest of my film club. Well, at least, Nijenhuis probably did deliver the best movie of his career but it doesn't mean I really liked it though. Basically, this Dutch director has made a career delivering some really successful but also really fluffy romantic-comedies and, while this movie definitely had more substance than his usual work, I'm afraid it was still too shallow for my taste. First of all, even though I have to admit that some of the jokes were really funny, most of the characters were actually more annoying than actually entertaining. Then, I really liked the idea of making a comedy about Alzheimer's disease but the whole concept was rather poorly handled, especially since the tone was so light, and it would have worked so much better with some pitch-black humor. Finally, during the last 30 minutes, they eventually dealt more seriously with the main issue within this relationship but it came too late in my opinion. Still, Herman Finkers is definitely a really charismatic man and I have to admit that it was really entertaining to see a movie in Twents dialect. Anyway, to conclude, even if Johan Nijenhuis definitely delivered a movie with some interesting potential, he would still have to work even harder to really impress me with his future projects. 


0 comments, Reply to this entry

An average movie

Posted : 1 week, 1 day ago on 14 February 2020 10:15 (A review of Fifty Shades Darker (2017))

I wasn't expecting much from this flick but I have to admit that I was curious to see if it really deserved its terrible reputation. Well, to be honest, even if it was pretty weak, I don't think it was so bad. The main issue remains that, even though  Dakota Johnson was a perfect choice, Anastasia Steele and Christian Grey were still such a boring couple. At least, this time around, Grey finally figured out to that he had to leave behind his preferred lifestyle if he wanted to be instead with the love of his life and it made their relationship so much healthier than in the previous movie. However, as a result, there was basically no conflict whatsoever to solve and, since there was not really a plot either, well, nothing much really happened through the whole duration. Finally, the most disappointing thing was probably the fact that, even though this movie was sold as a supposedly kinky sexy affair, it turned out to be incredibly tame after all. Sure, Dakota Johnson was often topless but there was no frontal nudity from either of them. In fact, the sex scenes were short, not really kinky whatsoever and very often with way too many clothes involved. Finally, I thought it was supposed to be about SM but there were in fact only 3 really soft scenes which seemed more like some playful sex than some actual SM. Anyway, to conclude, I can't say I was really disappointed since I had such low expectations but there is no denying that this franchise wasted a great opportunity to properly introduce SM practices to the mainstream audience. 


0 comments, Reply to this entry

An average movie

Posted : 1 week, 1 day ago on 14 February 2020 11:21 (A review of Muppets Most Wanted )

To be honest, I’m not a huge fan of the Muppets but since their last movie was available on Disney+, I thought I might as well check it out. First of all, I really liked the fact that they went for a completely different approach than what they did in the previous instalment and, Constantine, Kermit’s evil dubbelganger, was a pretty cool character. Furthermore, the whole thing was really well made, even if they could have avoided a few scenes obviously done with some CGI. The songs were not bad either, especially the first one making fun of the fact that they were making another sequel. Unfortunately, I have to admit that I still had a hard time to really care about this flick though. Indeed, in my opinion, this movie was just too long (apparently, it is the longest Muppet film released to date) and, to be honest, I really struggled to focus on the damned thing until the very end. The main issue was probably that those heists were rather lame and, above all, seriously repetitive. Indeed, basically, you get to see the Muppets going to Berlin, Madrid, Dublin and, finally, London giving some show while the bad guys were pulling some heists but the gimmick got old very fast. Anyway, to conclude, in spite of its flaws, it was still a decent watch though and it is worth a look, especially if you like the genre. 



0 comments, Reply to this entry

A good movie

Posted : 1 week, 2 days ago on 13 February 2020 11:45 (A review of Molly's Game)

To be honest, I wasn’t really sure what to expect from this flick but since I have a weak spot for Jessica Chastain and since it was available on Netflix, I was quite eager to check it out. Well, I always had a weak spot for movies dealing with poker and it turned out to be a really strong story on this subject. Indeed, it was such a different approach to the game where they didn’t actually look for the best players but, in this case the poker game actually became some kind of social event during which players with very deep pockets would have the opportunity to play against some major celebrities. However, if Aaron Sorkin is a fine writer (he even won a Academy Award for the Best Adapted Screenplay for ‘The Social Network’) I thought it was pretty obvious that it was his directing debut. Indeed, the back-and-forth in time was rather useless and annoying. Another issue was that they pretty much failed to show Molly Bloom’s life outside the high-stakes poker games. Basically, it seemed that she didn’t have any social life whatsoever but, even if it made have been true, it didn’t make her life look really attractive. As a result, they also felt compelled to vastly expand her relationship with her lawyer just because it was the only way to have her having some kind of relationship outside her employees and the poker players. However, most of the scenes involving Idris Elba were rather awkward and obviously completely made up. Concerning Kevin Costner, his character worked better and the guy gave a solid performance but the way he was suddenly brought back at the end to give some rather phony speech was pretty weak. Anyway, to conclude, in spite of its flaws, it was still quite a fascinating story and it is definitely worth a look, especially if you like the genre. 



0 comments, Reply to this entry

A good movie

Posted : 1 week, 3 days ago on 12 February 2020 01:25 (A review of Toy Story 4)

When I heard that they were coming up with a new sequel, I can’t say I was really excited but since it had been well received (it even recently won the Academy Award for the Best Animated Feature Film) and since I have always been a fan of Pixar, I still had to watch it at some point. Well, to be honest, it gave me pretty much the same feeling I had while watching ‘Toy Story 3’. Indeed, the animation was once again quite amazing but I wouldn’t expect less from Pixar and it was definitely an entertaining new tale. However, pretty much like its predecessor, it still felt like a rather useless sequel which didn’t add much to the flawless 1st two instalments. First of all, the story was hardly original. Indeed, once again, some toy got lost and, once again, Woody had to face some identity crisis which was pretty much what happened during every single ‘Toy Story’ movie. Furthermore, one of the main themes in the whole franchise was that the main purpose for any toy was to make a child completely happy but, in my opinion, this idea was pretty much contradicted in this new sequel. Anyway, to conclude, even if I wasn’t really blown away, it was still a decent effort from Pixar and it is definitely worth a look, especially if you like the genre.



0 comments, Reply to this entry


« Prev12 3 4 5 6 7 » 17 » 500 Next »