Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
Listal logo
All reviews - Movies (7041) - TV Shows (12)

An average movie

Posted : 10 years, 6 months ago on 5 April 2012 03:13 (A review of The Wendell Baker Story)

Basically, there was a time when I would go to a video game shop (which is now closed) and I would buy there on a regular basis 5 DVDs for 5 euros and, sometimes, since I would be missing 1 DVD, I would pick up pretty much anything at random just to reach 5 movies. Anyway, following this amazing process, I ended up watching some rather obscure movies and this one was definitely one of them. Since there was a rather interesting cast involved, I thought it could be interesting. Basically, the whole thing was some kind of vanity project for Luke Wilson who has always been in the shadow of his brother Owen. Anyway, Luke Wilson was the writer, the director and also the lead actor in this comedy and even though the whole thing had some potential, I thought it was rather disappointing. I mean, at first, the story was rather intriguing but pretty quickly, it was rather obvious he tried to emulate some similar quirky indie comedies, especially the ones directed by Wes Anderson, but the whole thing was eventually not really funny or entertaining. To conclude, I have seen worse movies but it still remain a rather weak indie comedy and it is not really worth a look, except maybe if you are die-hard fan of Luke Wilson.



0 comments, Reply to this entry

An average movie

Posted : 10 years, 6 months ago on 5 April 2012 12:37 (A review of The Corruptor)

Beforehand, I thought it could be an interesting, or at least, an entertaining action flick. Indeed, even though he is now pretty much forgotten, I always found that James Foley was an intriguing director. Furthermore, it was one of the first American productions starring Chow Yun-Fat and Mark Wahlberg was an up-and-coming young actor back then. Unfortunately, I thought the whole thing was rather disappointing. Basically, it is one of those disposable action flicks that Wahlberg has constantly made throughout his career. Honestly, it is not really bad whatsoever and the action scenes are decent but the plot is so generic, the characters are so stereotypical, I found the whole thing rather boring to watch. It's too bad since it actually had some potential but, in my opinion, it is just a lazy action movie with nothing original to provide and the whole thing was not really entertaining, I'm afraid. To conclude, I have seen worse movies but it is still an average action movie and it is not really worth a look, even if you are fan of this genre.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

An average movie

Posted : 10 years, 6 months ago on 5 April 2012 10:20 (A review of The Return)

Even though Sarah Michelle Gellar has reached some major success with 'Buffy The Vampire Slayer', she actually never really managed to break through on the silver screen. One of her very few success would be 'The Grudge' (which was actually rather disappointing in my opinion) and, afterwards, they quickly made another horror flick starring her obviously to make some easy money. I mean, the directing was not bad but the tension came mostly from the music which is a rather cheap gimmick. Furthermore, I have nothing against Sarah Michelle Gellar, I have to admit it, she is quite charming but she is honestly a rather poor actress and she didn't convince me here. Above all, I thought the whole thing was just so uneventful. Seriously, for most of the duration, nothing much was actually really happening and I was rather bored. Of course, at the end, they gave some really far-fetched explanation and you're basically supposed to buy it without any question. To conclude, I believe I'm actually generous with my rating as it was a rather lazy and boring horror flick and it is not really worth a look, except maybe if you are a die-hard fan of Sarah Michelle Gellar.



0 comments, Reply to this entry

An average movie

Posted : 10 years, 6 months ago on 5 April 2012 09:03 (A review of Below)

I always had a weak spot for U-Boot movies and it was the main reason I wanted to check this flick. I guess this flick went below the radar (pun intended...) because there were no major stars involved but I thought it was not bad at all. As a matter of fact, it was actually written by Darren Aronofsky and he was even supposed to direct it but he decided to do 'Requiem for a Dream' instead, so it was definitely a promising movie. And indeed, there were a lot of things to enjoy here. The mood was pretty good and I thought it was fairly well directed. I mean, after 'Das Boot' is practically impossible to add anything new to the genre but I thought they did a good job here. So, they gave this movie an interesting mysterious atmosphere but, unfortunately, they didn't really develop it very well. Of course, at the end, they manage to tie the loose ends but it was not really satisfactory. Also the fact that all the characters didn't have much personality and were only some stererotypes didn't help much. Still, it was a well made and spooky feature and I was entertained throughout the whole thing. To conclude, even though it never reached its full potential, it was a decent U-Boot flick and it is definitely worth a look, especially if you like the genre.



0 comments, Reply to this entry

An average movie

Posted : 10 years, 6 months ago on 4 April 2012 07:32 (A review of White Sands)

Honestly, beforehand, I had never heard of this movie before but since there was a pretty good cast, I thought I should give it a try. Before his deserved comeback and before starring in all kinds of worthless flicks, Mickey Rourke showed up in this rather unknown feature. It is a well made but rather pedestrian film noir which features indeed a very interesting cast (Willem Dafoe, Mary Elizabeth Mastrantonio, Mickey Rourke, Samuel L. Jackson, Maura Tierney). As I said before, the directing was pretty good and I really enjoyed the mood they gave to the proceedings. Furthermore, it was nice to see Dafoe having the lead part for a change. However, even if the story was entertaining enough, it was still nothing special or original and it was the same concerning the characters as they were rather stereotypical. Still, I think it remains a rather well made and entertaining film noir and it is definitely worth a look, especially if you like the genre.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

A good movie

Posted : 10 years, 6 months ago on 4 April 2012 07:19 (A review of Blue Velvet)

Since I saw this classic about 20 years ago, I guess it was time for a re-watch. First of all, I have to admit that I have a somewhat difficult relationship with David Lynch. I mean, by now, I have seen all his movies and even though I admire his work and consider him a genuine artist, I usually have a hard time to enjoy most of his features and this movie was a perfect example. Indeed, as usual with Lynch, the beginning was a spellbinding and thrilling film noir which would have made Hitchcock proud. But then, again as usual with this director, he obviously didn't care about the plot, he seamelessly threw it out the window and what remained was a succession of weird and unsettling scenes. In my opinion, it is a pattern used too often by David Lynch and I always find it eventually more frustrating than rewarding. Still, the directing was really neat and there was a fine cast involved (Isabella Rossellini, Kyle MacLachlan, Dennis Hopper, Laura Dern, Dean Stockwell, Brad Dourif, Jack Nance) above all Dennis Hopper was really impressive and probably gave here his best performance ever. Anyway, to conclude, it is an acquired taste but there are still plenty things to love here and it is definitely worth a look, especially if you are interested in David Lynch's work.



0 comments, Reply to this entry

A good movie

Posted : 10 years, 6 months ago on 3 April 2012 08:30 (A review of La Séparation)

It is a rather unknown French flick and I have seen it a couple of years ago but I thought it was pretty good. It stars two of the best French actors at work nowadays (Isabelle Huppert, Daniel Auteuil) and I thought they both gave some tremedous performances. Basically, it is one of those typical French movies dealing with romantic relationships and it is rather chaotic and messy. It is an acquired taste and, for example, my wife don't like movies dealing with love like that but, personally, I find it is a much more interesting approach than the irrealistic and shallow romantic features coming from Hollywood (for exampe, a couple of days ago, I saw 'Bride wars' and it was just abysmal...). Here, you deal with some real 3 dimensional characters and I actually cared about those characters and what they were going through. On the downside, I must admit the story was nothing really mindblowing but the movie was still quite spellbinding to watch. To conclude, even though it is a rather unknown flick, it is actually pretty good and it is definitely worth a look, especially if you are interested in French movies.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

An average movie

Posted : 10 years, 6 months ago on 3 April 2012 08:02 (A review of The Hills Have Eyes)

Even though I'm not really a big fan of those remakes of horror classics, since the reviews were not bad, I thought I could check this one out. Furthermore, I was rather curious to see Alexandre Aja's Hollywood debut. Well, to be honest, I ended up with some mixed feelings. Basically, the first half was rather weak, predictable, boring with some really poor acting but then the second half was not bad with some  heavy stuff (Indeed, you get to see some gruesome murders, a rape, a bonfire and .... even some breastfeeding). I also have to give the makers some credit for trying to develop the premise with some background story dealing with nuclear tests but, honestly, it made the whole thing even more convoluted than it already was. Still, eventually, it remained a rather pointless exercise, I'm, afraid. I mean, the original version was not bad but the reason why they made such cheap horror movies back then was because they didn't have the money to make something more elaborate so to remake such stories with 10 times the same budget doesn't make much sense, except of course if you want to make some easy money. Anyway, to conclude, even though it was nothing amazing whatsoever, I have to admit that it was still a decent remake and it is worth a look, especially if you like the genre.



0 comments, Reply to this entry

An average movie

Posted : 10 years, 6 months ago on 2 April 2012 07:32 (A review of 9½ Weeks)

Since it is a such a 80's classic, I really had to watch it at some point. Eventually, I ended up with some mixed feelings about the whole thing. In my opinion, the best example to explain my feelings about this flick this would be the notorious fruit-sex scene. Indeed, it has been parodied 100s in other movies and TV-shows afterwards and I guess some people find it really erotic but when you think about it for more than 10 seconds, it is actually rather laughable and ridiculous. And the rest of the movie is about the same as it is a collection of really contrived and rather far-fetched sex scenes. Still, above all thanks to the Kim Basinger and Mickey Rourke who were really charismatic, I think it still remain rather fascinating to watch somehow. Furthermore, Adrian Lyne (Unfaithful, Lolita, Indecent Proposal, Fatal Attraction) has always been the specialist of the sexually ladden features and he managed to make this movie still spellbinding. To conclude, it is really flawed and sometimes rather ridiculous but I still think it is worth a look though, especially if you like the genre.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

An average movie

Posted : 10 years, 6 months ago on 31 March 2012 10:03 (A review of Antitrust)

I don't know why exactly but I was really eager to watch this flick. Eventually, I thought it was rather disappointing. As a matter of fact, I actually really enjoyed the beginning. Indeed, by now, I have been working for more than 7 years in the IT business and I thought it was pretty neat to see a movie taking place in this world and, at first, it was quite promising. Indeed, it looked pretty good and the behavior of the charaters was actualy convincing. However, rather quickly, it became some kind of unbelievable and far-fetched hi-tech thriller and I kind of lost interest pretty soon in the whole thing. Basically, if you have any computer knowledge at all, this movie will be a big joke for you and that's too bad. A part from that, you have a decent cast (Ryan Phillippe, Rachael Leigh Cook, Claire Forlani , Tim Robbins), they all gave some decent performances and the directing was not bad as well. However, the story was just rather weak and it all felt like a missed oportunity. To conclude, I have seen worse movies but it is still pretty average and I don't think it is really worth a look.


0 comments, Reply to this entry